jump to navigation

Bad ice cream, or, being contrary. April 30, 2008

Posted by phledge in black bile, fat, fun, medical school, yellow bile.
trackback

So, y’all remember the faculty member who asked me why I thought fat people avoided doctors?  And how stupid that was?  (O, actually, that was a comment I posted over on SP:  I have a primary care faculty member who, after dozens of fat-phobic lectures, looked me straight in the face and said, “Why on EARTH would obese people avoid doctors? That’s just stupid.”  Sorry.)  He gave a lecture today about upper respiratory infections, including stuff like strep throat; for symptomatic control of sore throat he advocated cold things, like drinks and ice cream, “except, maybe not ice cream because of the calories.  So, popsicles.  Sugar-free ones.”

Today is Baskin Robbins’ 31-Cent day in support of American firefighters.  All of their scoops are 31 cents each (plus tax, limit ten scoops per customer) and you can bet your happy ass that if I wasn’t planning on going and getting ice cream before that lecture I sure as hell am now.  Because there’s a part of me, that part of me that always made diets unworkable and generally makes me a pain in the butt but also makes me arrogant and cantankerous enough to question authority and go boldly where no fat female pagan has gone before, which, when someone says “you can’t” says “oh YEAH?  Watch me.”  I probably won’t get ten scoops, though.  Not that I couldn’t if I wanted to.

It’s been a strange couple of days in the ‘toobs.  I’ve noticed that there have been misunderstandings, misinterpretations, general crankiness, and conflict abounding.  Is Mercury retrograde or something?  I don’t pay exceptionally close attention to the stars but there’s either something in the water, global warming is pissing people off, or the “economic stimulus” granted to us stateside folks has, well, not quite stimulated the right parts of our brains.  It’s like amygdala overload.  Pickin’ for a fight.  Mad as hell and not gonna take it anymore.  rBGH in the ice cream.  Something.  Just feels like the blogosphere is not really a very pleasant place to be right now.

Comments»

1. wellroundedtype2 - April 30, 2008

Just feels like the blogosphere is not really a very pleasant place to be right now.
I myself have been feeling down and particularly sensitive the past few days, and as it turns out*, I just started my period today, so, as sexist as this is going to sound, I had to wondered if everyone in the female fatosphere who still gets a period is getting one RIGHT NOW.
Wouldn’t it be amazing if somehow we all started to synch our cycles* as women who live together often do?

*My period comes so infrequently, that it’s practically a misnomer to call it a cycle.

2. anniemcphee - April 30, 2008

There’ve been a few flapdoodles, but overall I’m enjoying the Fat Liberation feed and stuff. Or maybe for once I’m enjoying spring. Who knows.

3. anniemcphee - April 30, 2008

Oh and your professor is bugfuck mad. I hate him and I don’t even know him. Ice cream all around, then jynnantonnyx.

4. Bee - May 1, 2008

I’ll have what you guys are having :o)

One a more serious note, is it just me or is the whole FA blogosphere becoming more fragmented by the minute?

5. Karen - May 1, 2008

Maybe you should have pointed out that people don’t like to be called “stupid” and tend to avoid those that refer to them as such. Including doctors.

Go ice cream!

6. Risha - May 1, 2008

I had noticed that it has been both very quiet this week, and has had the simmering feel of a huge blowout fight waiting to errupt. And I’m talking about everywhere, in wildly disconnected areas on the web. Either all of the calmer heads are out doors, or Cthulu is on his way up from the depths.

7. wellroundedtype2 - May 1, 2008

note to self: don’t comment when in a “weird mood”
http://kateharding.net/2008/04/05/weird-moods/

8. O.C. - May 1, 2008

Oh, if anyone hasn’t yet tried Ben and Jerry’s “Whirled Peace” you gotta go and get some. Chocolate chunky things and toffee cookie swirl in vanilla that tastes like real cream. Mmmmm…. Almost makes me want to get a sore throat.

9. Rachel - May 1, 2008

My husband and I had Ben & Jerry’s last night – he ate the brownie chunk and I stuck with my favorite, Cherry Garcia.

I think it’s great that Baskin Robbins is supporting emergency service personnel. Last month, two Cincinnati area firefighters died battling a house fire. Robin Broxterman was 9 days shy of her 40th birthday, the department’s first female captain and the mother of two little girls. Brian Schira, 29, became a firefighter because his mother thought his original line of work, law enforcement, would be too dangerous. I was an EMT and both my parents and now my brother are involved in either EMS or firefighting work. It’s something that is very personal to our family, so to see a company doing a great thing like this to support what can be a thankless job is so reassuring.

As for drama on the blogs, I just find it endlessly saddening how much better we are at dividing ourselves, than uniting ourselves. Who needs culture to tear our members down? We do a damn fine job of it ourselves.

10. Alexandra Lynch - May 1, 2008

Things is always weirder around a sabbat I notice, and at least around here (IN, USA) the tension may be explained partly by the fact that our primary is on the 6th and a lot of us Just Want It All To Go Away Now.

Plus, you know, the problems of living in a recession.

11. phledge - May 1, 2008

Oh, happy Beltane, Alexandra!

Y’know, the fat acceptance movement is definitely not the only civil rights movement to have fragments, and I almost wonder if it’s one of the growing pains of being a successful campaign with strong individuals doing good work for the greater good. Whether it’s racial issues, feminism, or ecology, it seems like we all have our own ideas about how to fix shit. It’s hard to be in groups where we can tend to forget about the goal because we disagree on how to get there. I’m usually one of those, “Aw, can’t we just all get ALONG” types of people, which is why confrontations and controversies are a little confusing and scary for me. It’s tough, being someone who tries to see everyone’s point of view as equally valid, to try to communicate with all sides and not look like I’m totally disregarding the issues. Ah, well…if I was done becoming who I am meant to be I would be dead.

And as for that faculty member? This is a hoot: he is the head of the primary care department, and he gave our psychiatry professor a very very poor rating (because our psych teacher is so fucking cool and, well, as has been noted, the other guy’s a douche). We as students had already voted the psych teacher in as Teacher of the Year. Viva la revolucion!

12. AnnieMcPhee - May 1, 2008

For what it’s worth, phledge, I (and I think a great many of the FA posters) do their (our) best to understand everyone’s points of view; though we may conclude that some are right and others not as right with regards to specific issues. As far as fighting in the war that’s been declared against us, I’d say we all better learn to get along at least insofar as that goes and put aside other differences. With some people all you might have really in common is your dedication to fat acceptance yet differ in your deeply held religious beliefs and just about everything else – while with others you may have a whole slew of other things in common (feminism, politics, etc.) but there’s no reason that you can’t join together for the purposes of fat acceptance and fight in it together. It requires some tact of course, but it can be done.

13. phledge - May 1, 2008

Ack, see, AnnieMcPhee, maybe my problem is not cowardice but tact; I didn’t mean to imply that I was Queen of Multiple Viewpoints. 🙂 I would say that the vast majority of the people I’ve encountered in FA are generous in spirit and compassion, and I would go so far as to say that those who have recently been involved in spats on the ‘sphere are part of that group as well. Maybe that’s what I’m struggling with: watching people who have thus far been comrades in arms having tussles due to language in an admittedly language-constrained medium, the ‘toobs. Or maybe we’re getting to the point where individual differences about how to approach fat acceptance are emerging and, well, who doesn’t like to think they’re right? That’s human nature, I think. Hopefully it’s also human nature to recognize the real threat to our safety and sanity, but soon.

14. AnnieMcPhee - May 2, 2008

Oh I didn’t take it negatively; just wanted to give everyone their due props 🙂 But you’re right at the end there. There are people coming around who say look, we’re ready to roll up our sleeves on this fat acceptance issue – we might not share the same views on other issues (even if to g-you they are interrelated) just as you don’t share the same views as me/us on other issues (even though to g-us they are also interrelated) but on this we see the writing on the wall and are ready to take real action to fight it. Can we put aside our other differences, even if we continue struggling together over them and talking them through, for the purposes of fighting this discrimination? Can g-you not view g-me as an enemy because of my other deep convictions or lenses or viewpoints and worldviews, as I am willing to extend you the same courtesy? Will you allow the movement to grow in these new directions even if g-you need to make some kind of differentiation to the world that, “Well, we don’t share the same views on X or Y, but we are both committed to FA and I enjoy listening to hir viewpoints and getting different perspectives.” Like I say, it requires some tact and willingness to listen to some things that you really don’t believe in (and understand that someone else does) but it can be done for the “greater good.”

I’d like to see the fatosphere be genuinely inclusive that way. To have people who really come from a different angle (just as feminism is a lens, there are other lenses) all featured under the broader umbrella of FA. Not to exclude one for having the “wrong” political views. To have them all linked to so people can seek out that which speaks to them – or at least include all the feeds on the major sites.

Just an example – FatShepherdess says she is pro-life and if she were ever at a protest or rally and came across a pro-choicer, she’d happily link arms with hir, and say “You hold up your sign and I’ll hold up mine and we’ll both speak out for what we believe.” (Er, I don’t think we’re talking about those icky bloody signs there, please note.) In this case there isn’t even that difference – only peripheral differences, no matter how inextricable someone may find their other issues (and we all do, but we ought to be able to get past that.)

I hope this makes sense; I always spit everything out in one swoop and then worry about it later. Hugs.

15. AnnieMcPhee - May 2, 2008

Knew I forgot something – “g-you, g-us, g-me” the g means “general.” It’s not YOU you, in other words. Helpful shorthand, like “hir” instead of him/her, he/she.

16. phledge - May 3, 2008

To take your analogy a little further, Annie, consider that there’s a spectrum of people who consider themselves to be pro-life. Some of them think that the right thing to do is to support women who find themselves in an unwanted pregnancy, and help them with adoption resources and parenting materials. Some, on the other end of the spectrum, feel that violence against abortion providers is the only way to send their belief message and to assure that their goals are met. Both are anti-choice and I disagree with both, but the clinic-bomber creeps me out way more than the adoption-shiller; I’d like to think I could have a productive conversation with the shiller about what I think is best for unwanted pregnancies. Bringing this back into fat acceptance, some people are anti-fat by maintaining their dieting stance for themselves, while some people are anti-fat by prohibiting recommendations that would include body size in discrimination and accessibility legislation. Some people are pro-fat by personally refusing to diet, while some are pro-fat by going on television and proclaiming the FA/HAES message to the world. I’m in the middle of the pro-fat crowd, so it might be hard for me to interact constructively with anyone who was still personally dieting for their health and appearance. It might even be tough for me to talk with someone who is on the pro-fat side but is either very vigilant and vocal about it, or is juuuuust on this side of not-diet. When I identified as pro-life (in my teens) I was mortified by anyone who would say, “Well, it’s a personal choice, but I think it’s wrong,” (which I say is a pro-life stance: yay personal, boo judgment) but I was impressed by those whose convictions were so solid that they would bomb a clinic. Going to jail for Jesus! Wow! :starry eyes:

Needless to say I’m not there anymore, but you can see how that experience showed me how variable and unpredictable the members of a movement, and their behaviors accordingly, could be.

17. BigLiberty - May 7, 2008

Phledge said:

“It’s tough, being someone who tries to see everyone’s point of view as equally valid, to try to communicate with all sides and not look like I’m totally disregarding the issues.”

Thanks for that, sweetie. This is a really great post…both you and Annie have said everything I’d want to say. 🙂


Leave a Reply

