jump to navigation

Diseases caused by fat, part one. March 2, 2008

Posted by phledge in fat, medical school, yellow bile.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Studying for a clinical systems quiz to be administered tomorrow.  Did not attend this lecture on diseases of the esophagus.  Behold!

Lifestyle changes to reduce reflux: Elevate head of bed. Avoid food/liquid 2-3 hr. before bed. Avoid fatty, spicy food. Avoid smoking, alcohol. Weight loss.

Brrhuhwhat?  I do believe that in comments I have addressed the fact that my faculty, bless their hearts (and I’ve been told that in the South when one says that phrase it means that the blessee is about to be totally slammed), think fat is responsible for the Usual Suspects:  type 2 diabetes, heart disease, stroke, apnea, gallstones, osteoarthritis, blah blah fatty blah.  So WTF does fat have to do with GERD?  The mind boggles.  Our next block will focus on central nervous system diseases and I can hardly wait for someone to tell me that headaches, multiple sclerosis, Alzheimer, and depression are caused by teh fat.

I have to get back to studying this horseshit.  Rest assured that I do not buy a single swizzlestick of it.

Comments»

1. La di Da - March 2, 2008

Well obviously all fat people are so fat that they have gargantuan (thank you Elle Driver) amounts of fat on their abdomens, strangumalating their stomachs from all directions!

Never mind that there would actually be maybe 1 in 10,000 fat people who might be that big. And of course the solution is weight loss surgery! Which might give you mega GERD, but hey, weight loss at any cost! Exclamation mark!

I am getting so tired of the Fat Causes Everything school of medicine.

2. Teri - March 4, 2008

I was told to lose 80 pounds to “cure” my GERD. I didn’t know then that everyone in my family has it…everyone. And none of them are obese. My 106-pound, 22-year-old cousin was just diagnosed. These knee-jerk reactions make me so angry. No one ever asked for a family history. I only found out by accident after I beat myself up and lost 50 pounds. The pounds came back and I found fat acceptance.

3. Mandork - March 4, 2008

i’ve found that my persistent heartburn goes away when i stop eating bread, regardless of the number of chiles i put in my curry or chili con carne. my gyn and gp thought this was crazy talk and told me to work on losing teh fatz (no mention of just HOW to do this, btw)…

4. phledge - March 4, 2008

Ugh, Teri, I’m so sorry to hear that someone completely dismissed your family history. Mandork, one of the things I’m rapidly learning about conventional medicine is that, because it’s being bought by someone that’d rather not spend the money (namely your friendly neighborhood HMO), the only treatments worth paying for are the ones that work for most people. Any deviation from that—no matter that people are individuals with individual needs and quirks and disease progressions and responses to treatment—is either begging for a lawsuit or not getting the bill paid. There’s much more broken about medicine today than it would appear on the surface.

5. Adam - April 12, 2008

Gerd isn’t real trust me my mom makes monster noises and says she has screaming GERD which i don’t belive

6. phledge - April 12, 2008

Okay, Adam, I approved your message because I have to ask: what the hell? What kind of asshole decides that his mom’s a liar because she says she has a disease that her kid randomly thinks is bogus?

This is the same kind of attitude that gets people dead from “faked” symptoms, or that gets people dead from suicide because they just can’t stand living with an illness that nobody recognizes. Fuck that noise.


Leave a Reply

