jump to navigation

A FoBT post. March 2, 2008

Posted by phledge in black bile, fat, health.
Tags: , ,
trackback

First, for those of you who are unawares, Kate Harding (the real one) wrote a phenomenal post about the ways in which we wish our lives would be automatically, magically changed just by becoming a size six!  The Fantasy of Being Thin (FoBT) is a powerful spell we cast when we think that all of our negative aspects are a result of being fat, and it keeps us tied to the desperate act of dieting and disordered behaviors in the quest to become smaller.  If you haven’t read it, I cannot recommend it strongly enough.

 But if you already have, then you will understand what I am going to say:  my ankles are swollen like nobody’s business.  Like huge, skin-stretching, +3 pitting cankles.  They are uncomfortable and damn unattractive in my eyes.  They come and go on a day-to-day basis and I know that if I had a) worn sneakers instead of flip flops, b) not stayed on my feet all day, and c) worn the lovely support hose that help with it, I would not be complaining like this.  My FoBT is that if I were thin I wouldn’t get cankles.  This is probably not true at all and I’m not willing to buy a ticket to Self-Flagellation Central in order to find out, but, man, it’s amazing what happens to my legs when I’m stuck on my feet, or sitting in a chair for eight hours or more a day with my eyes glued to a laptop screen studying gastrointestinal viruses or ECG interpretations.  My doctor told me rather noncommittally that it might help to get a little more exercise but even that wasn’t a total guarantee.

I will post eventually about how it feels to be an unhealthy medical student, but right now I’m going to go put my feet up.  Provided they don’t pop before I get out of this chair.

Comments»

1. littlem - March 4, 2008

Remembering my own days in the law library, I cannot imagine that there are very many healthy medical students at all.

I’ve heard about those 72-hour residency shifts with no sleep. And this goes on for, like, 4 years?

I don’t think you all get to start jogging and looking like models (I have 4 docs that I listen to – a genius dentist, dermo, ENT, and ortho. They are the only ones I listen to ever; I’ve never been to a GP that didn’t suck in some way. They are all hot. I have no idea why) until you’ve published in a couple of journals and have an assistant to handle your insurance and appointment paperwork.

Of course, I’m just guessing.

2. phledge - March 4, 2008

I have a post brewing about this bullshit. Stay tuned! 🙂


Leave a Reply

