jump to navigation

The terror has been unleashed. February 21, 2008

Posted by phledge in fat, medical school, phlegm, yellow bile.
trackback

With the encouragement of a few lone voices in the wilderness who have been fooled into thinking that I can adequately describe my own version of events, I am blogging about (mostly) my medical education as it unfolds, and especially how it relates to my experience as a fat woman undergoing the transformation that is fat acceptance.  There’s only so many times I can hear how our obese! patients need to lose weight no matter what, that we need to be carefully monitoring our patients on life-saving medications that have weight gain as a side effect oh NOEZ in case we have to discontinue the (remember, life-saving) meds, that obesity is an eating disorder, that research from 1995 is perfectly acceptable as the latest information about fat and health.  So I come home and holler at my husband about how idiotic this all is, and I think he’s tired of hearing it.  I holler in comments to other peoples’ posts which is rude and inconsistent and makes me look like a shrew.  But through that portal a couple of people recommended that I grab hold of a wild blog and tame it into letting me tell my little story.  So, voilá!  There will be other stuff here, too, and hopefully I’m not too intensely boring.  Please visit often and tell me what you’d like to hear, if I haven’t already addressed it.

Comments»

1. sweetmachine - February 21, 2008

Yay Phledge!!!! I’m so glad you’ve started a blog — your voice will be invaluable.

2. kateharding - February 21, 2008

Woo hoo!

3. phledge - February 21, 2008

I’m glad you two are excited, because I’ll be picking your brains for help on how to run this flying umbrella. Thanks for the support!

4. meghan - March 1, 2008

I’m so glad you’re writing a blog – I’ve enjoyed reading your comments elsewhere, especially at FDNH.


Leave a comment